Turin is a city of art, culture and tradition, a magic city, rich in history and legends, but also a modern city, future-oriented. Its numerous beauties, its unique museums, its historical buildings and its irresistible chocolate are waiting for you!
NOT TO BE MISSED
The Mole Antonelliana is the symbol of Turin, built between 1862 and 1889 by the architect Alessandro Antonelli. It was originally meant to be a synagogue, but as it was finished it was bought by the city of Turin and the Mole was dedicated to Victor Emmanuel II. In the Seventies a panoramic lift was built: from the above the view of the city is breathtaking! Since 2000 the building houses the Museo Nazionale del Cinema (National Museum of Cinema).
The Museo Egizio is the only museum other than the Cairo Museum that is dedicated solely to Egyptian art and culture. The collections that make up today’s Museum were enlarged by the excavations conducted in Egypt by the Museum’s archaeological mission between 1900 and 1935.
Did you know? During those years finds were divided between the excavators and Egypt, while now they are kept in Egypt.
A visit to the Madama Palace is a way of travelling through time: from its Roman foundations to the medieval towers and on to the sumptuous baroque of the staircase by Juvarra.
The palazzo has its origins in a Roman castrum (military defence complex), but the name of the building refers to the Madame Royale title for both Marie-Christine of France and Marie Jeanne Baptiste of Savoy-Nemours who were the driving force behind the modernisation project that culminated in the construction of the grand staircase and the elegant facade by Filippo Juvarra.
In the 19th century, Court life was replaced by politics: Charles Albert based the first Royal Senate here and it was from here that the birth of the Kingdom of Italy was declared. Since 1934 it has been the Municipal Museum of Ancient Art.
The Royal Palace is an impressive seventeenth-century building, which has been altered and extended on various occasions down the centuries. It still bears traces of the work of the most important artists active in Turin. Until 1865 it served as the residence of the Dukes of Savoy, the Kings of Sardinia and the Kings of Italy. It is possible to visit the royal apartments, lavishly decorated and furnished from the seventeenth to the twentieth century to the taste of the Savoy sovereigns. Clocks, porcellain, silver and furnishings, some dating back to the seventeenth century, can be seen.
The Teatro Regio (‘Royal Theatre’) is a prominent opera house and opera company. Several buildings provided venues for operatic productions in Turin from the mid-16th century, but it was not until 1713 that a proper opera house was considered, and under the architect Filippo Juvarra planning began. However, the cornerstone was not laid until the reign of Charles Emmanuel III in 1738 after Juvarra’s death. The work was supervised by Benedetto Alfieri until the theatre was completed. In 1936 the building was completely destroyed and the theatre closed. The “new” Royal Theatre was rebuilt only in 1973.
The museum was opened in 1837 by King Charles Albert, and occupies part of the Gallery that linked the Royal Palace with Palazzo Madama. The collection contains many types of swords, firearms and armour. There are fine examples of medieval arms, many pieces from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, firearms from the Risorgimento, and Napoleonic arms and relics. Weapons that belonged to the Savoy Kings and a prestigious collection of oriental arms are kept here too.
The Royal Library, founded by Carlo Alberto in 1837, is part of the Royal Palace complex and was designed by the architect Carlo Amadeo of Castellamonte. It preserves important collections of manuscripts, illuminated manuscripts, engravings, more than 2,000 drawings, and, above all, Leonardo da Vinci’s drawings, acquired by Carlo Alberto, including the Self-portrait, the Face of the Angel, preparatory drawing for the Virgin of the Rocks held in the Louvre, and the Codex on the Flight of Birds.
Museum of the Shroud
The museum shows a complete set of information about Shroud’s researches from ‘500 till now, gathering historical, scientific, devoutness and artistic aspects. A part of the museum presents scientific explorations of the shroud from 1898 to present.
From the very early times, several scientists have been trying to explore the meaning of the Shroud. A second section is dedicated to the history (believed as well as recorded) of the Holy Shroud and its worship, starting from the second half of 15th century, when the Sheet became a property of Savoy family.
The Museum has a path for blind, result of collaboration with the Italian Blind Union – Section of Torino.
Turin Cathedral is a Roman Catholic cathedral dedicated to Saint John the Baptist. The cathedral was begun in 1491 under design of Amedeo de Francisco di Settignano, also known as Meo del Caprino, who finished it in seven years. The bell tower remained the one erected in 1469, which is still visible today. Filippo Juvarra brought some modifications in the 17th century. Designed by Guarino Guarini, the Chapel of the Holy Shroud (the current resting place of the Shroud of Turin) was added to the structure in 1668–94.
Over 2.000 works from a variety of Asian countries, dating from the fourth millennium BCE to the twentieth century CE, provide five different itineraries through five different cultural regions: South Asia, China, Japan, the Himalayan Region and the Islamic countries of Asia. Visitors discover distant, littleknown, age-old cultures: the MAO takes its audience on a captivating journey of exchanges, discoveries and insights.
WHAT TO DO
WHERE TO CHARGE
evway Charging Stations
– Piazza Statuto, 10;
– Piazza Arbarello, 4;
– Corso Bolzano, 30;
– Via Plana, 2;
– Piazza Solferino, 20;
– Piazza CLN;
– Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 64;
– Corso Turati, 15bis;
– Piazza Castello;
Here you can charge your car!